Thohir is Inter’s New President, Moratti to Stay as Honorary President


After his first day in Milano, the shareholders of Inter Milan have elected Erick Thohir the new president of the football club at a meeting yesterday. The meeting has also confirmed Massimo Moratti to be the honorary president of the club.

“Erick Thohir has been elected the President of the Board of Directors and Massimo Moratti as the club’s Honorary President,” wrote the official website of Inter Milan today.

The website also stated names of the new eight-member board of directors. The directors are Erick Thohir, Rosan Roeslani, Handy Soetedjo, Thomas Shreve, Hioe Isenta, Angelomario Moratti, Rinaldo Ghelfi and Alberto Manzonetto.

Moratti had previously turned down the opportunity to remain the president of Nerazzuri. He emphasized that the president position has to go to those who own the majority shares of the club.

Moratti was also pleased with his new position as the Honorary President and his son Angelomario the vice president of Inter. “It will keep us close to the club,” said Moratti.

Massimo Nebuloni, from the painful goodbye of Massimo Moratti as President of Inter. According to Nebuloni, the Inter players have talked to Moratti during these last few days, begging him to stay as president and stay close to the team, but Moratti still stood by his descision and stepped down from the throne.